top of page
Search
  • High Horse

The April Rebellion. 1) Tell The Truth!

I am one of the more than 1,100 arrestees from April's Extinction Rebellion Climate protests in London, and one of the 180 people that have been charged so far. I am not what most people would imagine from a climate activist; I am just a regular guy who cares about what is happening to our planet, and who recognises that 'something needs to be done'.

I am 54 years old; married to a deputy Head Teacher at a Primary School (who shall remain nameless due to her school not appreciating her activism); have two grown-up sons; and work as a postman in a Village just outside Bedford. I have been a Green Party and Greenpeace supporter for decades, but have come to realise that writing letters and going on A to B marches just doesn't have any significant effect. I was inspired to join Extinction Rebellion after being impressed by their tactics and commitment, and recognising that thousands of people on the streets prepared to be arrested would be a powerful thing. I had joined my local affinity group (Bedford); undergone my 'non-violent direct action' training; and was ready for the international rebellion in April. A group of us travelled down to London on Monday 15th April, and took part in the occupation of Parliament Square. The atmosphere was brilliant. It was friendly, co-operative, and inspiring. There were learning and information areas; creches; well being areas; media areas - this was a well organised and well-planned organisation with love and non-violence at the core of it's ethos. There were lots of Police there, but they were passive towards us, and the public were generally supportive. It was a beautiful thing. Many of us stayed all week, but I had to work and couldn't travel to London again until Good Friday (a bank holiday). When we arrived in Parliament Square this time it was clear that the atmosphere had changed. Large amounts of Police were marching to one corner of the square to clear the blockade, and we were asked to reinforce it. Literally as soon as we took our positions, the Police started pulling people out of the road and arresting them. We supported them by joining their ranks and joining in the singing and drumming (I had brought my drum!). I was asked to provide a 'calming, funereal' drumbeat, and duly obliged. The police targeted a Lady who leading the chants, asking her to leave, and then physically carrying her off when she ignored them. There was just a calmness and sadness amongst the rebels as the arrests happened. Then I saw a senior officer pointing me out, probably because of the encouraging effect that my drumming was having. A group of officers approached me and told me that a section 14 notice was in place and that I should go to marble arch if I wanted to protest. I ignored them and continued drumming. They then told me that I would be arrested if I did not leave the area. I just continued drumming. Then some large, male officers approached to physically remove me, so I sat down in the road so that they would have to carry me off. I am 6 feet 3 inches tall, so it took seven of them to remove me. Everything us rebels did was non-violent and passive. There was no active resistance or violence, and our chants and songs were calm and polite. I was carried to a police van, placed in handcuffs in a 'rear stack' and sat in the van. After assuring the Police that I offered absolutely no threat and would not resist them they adjusted the cuffs to a 'front stack', which was more comfortable, but still left me with bruises to my wrists.

During the journey to the custody suite, the Police were friendly and polite, and the four arrestees in the van took the opportunity to tell them about the climate crisis, and why we were moved to do what we did. The Police were aware of the term 'climate crisis', but not aware of the seriousness of the situation. They asked us many questions about the climate crisis, which we were happy to answer, as it had nothing directly to do with our arrests. At one point, one of the Ladies in the van started to cry, not because she was scared about the arrest, but because she was emotional about the effect of the climate crisis on refugees forced to flee their homes because no food would grow there. We eventually arrived at Wallworth custody suite in South London, and were 'processed' (searched, photographed, fingerprinted) before being locked in a cell. I was in the cell for about nine hours before being questioned and released 'under investigation'. XR had told us that we did not have to answer any questions, but I was quite open about why I had joined the protest, as I wanted to 'own' my own actions. I was allowed one phone call, and used that to contact Jen (who hadn't been arrested) to tell her that I had been released. She had managed to already find out where I was and wasn't worried about my well-being as she knew how determined I was.

In the middle of July I received a letter confirming that I was being charged with breaching a section 14 public order notice, and summoning me to appear at City Of London Magistrates Court on Friday 2nd August. You may have seen in the press that the Metropolitan Police have pledged to charge ALL 1,100 arrestees. This is clearly a political decision, as most criminals have a 5-10% chance of ending up in court after being arrested. If I plead guilty to this offence, or if I am found guilty after pleading not guilty, I will end up with a criminal record and a possible £1,000 fine (although a 'conditional discharge' is more likely). I will also be liable for up to another £1,000 in costs, and unless I choose to defend myself then the services of a solicitor will cost me about £2,500. That is the price of justice in this country - if you have a modest job and do not qualify for legal aid, then a proper defence for an arrest after a perfectly peaceful protest on conscientious grounds could end up bankrupting you.


Rebel with a cause in Parliament Square, London in the XR April rebellion

24 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page